Levine Communications Office

One of America's Premier Public Relations Firms

  • Follow us on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,371 other followers

  • Subscribe

Suelyn Medeiros in Sharp Magazine

Posted by Levine Communications Office on July 20, 2011


Suelyn Medeiros first started modelling as a way to help her pay her way through medical school. This is the kind of fact that seems absolutely far-fetched, yet predictable. Of course she was going to be a doctor. Just look at her.  She was then introduced into modelling by a friend. This friend deserves to be bought a drink, and possibly a hug of gratitude, despite any shortage of doctors in the world.

While modelling for print campaigns like L’Oreal and Dos XX beer got her name (and body) noticed, she branched out into music videos by artists like the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Snoop Dogg.

 

Nowadays she’s trying to break out of modelling to make a brand name for herself, similar to Beyonce Knowles and Jennifer Lopez. We spoke with Suelyn about her career path and her recent Lilo-style brush with the law. And we couldn’t resist asking about her Delorean – yep, the one from Back To The Future.

 

What are you working on at the minute?

 

I’m working on a TV show that I can’t get too much into, I have a clothing line coming out in September that’s called Bombshell by Suelyn, I’ve been designing it for four years now and now I’m finally ready to launch it.

 

I’ve been doing a few magazine covers, I have a movie right now that’s called Video Girl, in AMC theatres, and it’s starring Meagan Good. I have a lot going on.

 

Tell us some more about the clothing line.

 

It’s completely designed by me, I have a team working with me getting the right fabrics, and the right things for my designs, but they’re completely inspired by me and my culture, I’m Brazilian. The customers that I’m trying to target are mainly models or very fit people that just like to look good and show their curves.

 

I have a season coming out, it’s going to be neon colours, very bright summer fun colours, and I’ll be working on the next season in the next few months.

 

So are you trying to branch out from modelling by taking on these other roles?

 

I love modelling but I think for everyone there comes a time when it comes to an end, not that I see that time anytime soon, but I want to do more. I aspire to really brand my name, that’s what my ultimate goal is, to be a brand, so I want to work on the clothing line. I’m just trying all these new things that I haven’t done yet.

 

Like Jennifer Lopez has done?

 

Correct. She’s someone that I look up to who has done something close to what I want to do in my career.

 

What would be your ideal acting job?

 

Comedy and drama would be my two main goals. But I’m also very athletic, I learnt martial arts growing up so I’d be able to do something in that area, maybe be a kick-ass sexy killer.

 

You were recently arrested. What happened there?

 

I made a mistake, I’m not really a drinker and I get high off of health and just having fun and being with my friends. I really don’t need all that other stuff. But I made a mistake, I went out and drove to Hollywood with my friends after a red carpet, and I met up with a few friends at a club, we had a few drinks and, I figured two hours had passed and I was ok to drive, like a short drive home, and it was a huge mistake and I would never do that again. I’ll just take a taxi.

 

I got pulled over and I got my first DUI which I was very ashamed of, and I’m not too happy to talk about it really.

 

And you drive a Delorean?

 

Yes I have a Ferrari and a Delorean. I use the Ferrari actually the most, but the Delorean is a very different car and calls a lot of attention, usually more than the Ferrari. It just depends on my mood, what I’m feeling.

Leave a Reply

 
