Levine Communications Office

One of America's Premier Public Relations Firms

Debbie Gibson’s interview with The Celebrity Cafe

Posted by Levine Communications Office on May 14, 2012

Pop singer Debbie Gibson was recently on NBC’s The Celebrity Apprentice. She is best known for her 1988 No. 1 single, “Foolish Beat.” The track, released when she was just 17, made her the youngest person to ever write, record and produce her own No. 1 single. Gibson has also done work on Broadway and runs the Gibson Girls Foundation.

TheCelebrityCafe.comThe Celebrity Apprentice is the most recent TV work that you’ve done. Do you have any favorites of your work in TV or film?

Debbie Gibson: Oh goodness…Well, this definitely ranks up there, especially in the reality world. It’s the coolest, classiest and wildest show to be a part of. I love that it really shows people out of their comfort zone, and out of what the audience is used to seeing us all do. Which is…I get it. I get why people love the show so much.

In terms of film, I loved doing the SyFy movie Mega Python vs. Gatoroid with Tiffany. That was a blast. And even to call it my film work…implies a seriousness. [laughs] Which is funny to me. I mean the great thing about doing that movie was that it was so not serious. We were trying not to be serious. We knew we weren’t going to win any Oscars. And for that reason, I just loved doing it and I loved teaming up with [Tiffany].

TCC: Going back to your singing career….In 1988, you were announced as the youngest person to ever write, produce and perform a No. 1 single with your song “Foolish Beat.” With the subsequent songs and albums you have put out, were you ever concerned with how they would be compared with “Foolish Beat” and your other early hits?

DG: In pop music, unless you stay on a path of music only, which I haven’t…I’ve gone and really my focus went to Broadway and theater for many, many years. I did like 17 musicals in 17 years, starting when I was 21. Unless you’re like Rihanna and you’re going to come out with album after album and you’re going to work with this hot producer and that hot producer, pretty much, you’re going to have that one moment that really stands out. And for me, I’m ready to have that moment again after all of these years… continue reading at TheCelebrityCafe.com

Leave a Reply

 
